Mission Society of the Philippines


JAPAN (1991)

In the Land of the Rising Sun, the MSP began its missionary work in the Diocese of Kyoto in 1991 through Fr Jude Thaddeus Besinga MSP and Fr Primitivo Balasbas MSP, the first MSP missionaries to that diocese. The Diocese of Kyoto consists of four prefectures of Japan: Kyoto, Nara, Mei and Shiga.

Eleven years later, the MSP’s mission in Japan extended to the Diocese of Naha in the island of Okinawa. The MSP sent the veteran missionary in Japan, Fr Primitivo Balasbas MSP as the first MSP missionary to that island diocese. Later, he was joined by Fr Rommel Cruz MSP, then Fr Senador Lumandas MSP.

The current (2010) MSP missionaries in the Diocese of Kyoto are Frs Faustino Galo MSP, Elmer Dimarucut MSP, and Exor Arce MSP. In Okinawa, there are four MSP missionaries: Frs Primitivo Balasbas MSP, Rommel Cruz, Senador Lumandas, and Christopher Amoroso MSP.


Mission Areas